Advocates for the Injured Nationwide – Available 24/7

Toll-Free: (855) 812-1100 Local: (361) 730-1190

Texas' Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Cases

Texas' Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Cases

If you have sustained an injury as a result of the negligence of someone else, then you may wish to file a personal injury suit against them. While you may be entitled to compensation, you are limited in the amount of time in which you may file your suit. This amount of time varies from state to state and is intended to protect potential plaintiffs from facing suits for injuries that may no longer even be relevant and other frivolous lawsuits. These laws are known as the statutes of limitations. Let’s take a more detailed look at them now.

Limitations on Injury Claims

The time period indicated as part of the statute of limitations usually begins either from the time of the injury or at the period at which a plaintiff should have reasonably known about the injury (such as in instances of illness from continual exposure). Additionally, depending on the complexity of your case, you may have multiple statutes of limitations, and depending on how your case is handled, you may be subjected to a limitation that you did not anticipate. Therefore, it’s crucial to speak with a Corpus Christi injury attorney before filing your claim.

The average statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Texas is two years from the date of the injury. This applies in nearly all personal injury cases, including:

  • Injuries from assault and battery
  • Medical malpractice
  • Premises liability (slip and fall)
  • Wrongful death
  • Product liability
  • Many workers compensation injuries

There are a few exceptions to this rule, notably when it comes to product liability. The majority of product liability injuries give you up to two years to file your claim, but you could receive up to 15 years to file your claim in a few rare instances, such as if your product has a useful life of longer than 15 years and you are injured before the end of the 15 year period. You may also be eligible to file a suit within 15 years if your continual exposure to the product results in an injury that takes longer than a 15 year period to manifest itself into an injury.

This means you have a limited amount of time in which to file your claim if you have been injured, so you should not hesitate to speak with an attorney right away. At Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Attorneys we have the experience and legal knowledge you need to be a valuable and powerful ally throughout your case. We are unafraid to take your case as far as we need to in order to secure you the financial relief you need for your injury, and we’ll stand by you every step of the way to protect your rights. We handle all types of personal injury claims, including offshore and oilfield injuries, and work on a contingency fee basis, meaning we collect nothing unless we are successful in recovering benefits on your behalf.

Call Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Attorneys now at 361.790.1190 and ask to receive a free consultation.

Categories